By Maggie McCauley

Beach bums, world travelers, adventure seekers — whichever category you fall in to, you can still experience your ideal vacation without ever leaving the city! “Fortunately, staycations are nothing like they were in the past, when you went to the local pool as your friends went to the beach,” says Tom Loftus, chief marketing officer of VisitPITTSBURGH. “Especially when you live in Pittsburgh, which has become a popular leisure destination and a great place for a staycation.” Follow our guide for the ultimate staycation this summer!

BEACH

There may not be a sea breeze or waves crashing against the shore around here, but those beloved beach activities can still be enjoyed if you’re willing to get a little creative! From sipping tropical drinks to getting that perfect sun-kissed glow, you’ll be able to bring the beach to the ‘Burgh.

Sip Tropical Drinks:

Hidden Harbor, 708 Shady Ave., Squirrel Hill. 412.422.5040. hiddenharborpgh.com. 

Eat Seafood:

Monterey Bay Fish Grotto, 1411 Grandview Ave. #2, Mt.Washington. 412.481.4414. montereybayfishgrotto.com
Muddy Waters Oyster Bar, 130 S. Highland Ave., East Liberty. 412.361.0555. muddywaterspgh.com
Off The Hook, 908 Warrendale Village Drive, Warrendale. 724.719.2877. offthehookfish.com

Ride Bikes:

Three Rivers Heritage Trail, friendsoftheriverfront.org

Go Swimming:

Club One, 6325 Penn Ave., East End. 412.362.4806. club1pittsburgh.com
Upper St. Clair Community and Recreation Center Pool and Waterpark, 1551 Mayview Road, Upper St. Clair. 412.831.9000. twpusc.org

Get a (Spray) Tan:

Valarie Panei Professional Makeup Artist, 412.480.1132. valariepanei.com

Go Mini Golfing:

Cool Springs Sports Complex, 1530 Hamilton Road, Bethel Park. 412.881.8500. playcoolsprings.com

ADVENTURE

For thrill-seekers and adrenaline junkies, there’s lots of activities to get your heart pumping this summer. Get outside and immerse yourself in nature or take on an indoor challenge.

Hiking

Rachel Carson Trail, 412.475.8881. rachelcarsontrails.org

Kayaking

Kayak Pittsburgh North Shore, 1 Federal St., North Shore. 412.337.1519. ventureoutdoors.org

Ziplining

Go Ape, 991 Tennis Court Road, Allison Park. 800.971.8271. goape.com

Indoor Rock Climbing

Ascend Pittsburgh, 2141 Mary St., South Side. 412.745.2141. ascendpgh.com
The Climbing Wall, 7501 Penn Ave. #6, East Liberty. 412.247.7334. theclimbingwall.net

White Water Rafting

Ohiopyle White Water Adventures, 6 Negley St., Ohiopyle. 724.329.8850. wwaraft.com

SPA

Maybe you’re looking to get away, without a literal getaway. Relax and unwind with one of the many spa packages at these fabulous resort experiences. 

Buhl Mansion Guesthouse & Spa

422 E. State St., Sharon.  866.345.2845. buhlmansion.com

Try:
Stone Castle Package
Champagne & Caviar Package
The Mansion Magnifique
Ladies Royal Court Package
Girlfriends Getaway Package
A Beautiful Rose Package
The Trumpeter Swan Package

Nemacolin Woodlands Resort

1001 Lafayette Drive, Farmington. 866.344.6957. nemacolin.com

Try:
Full Day Packages:
Woodlands Tranquility Package
Half Day Packages:
Woodlands Class Collection
Woodlands Renewal Packages
Fit to be Well Package

Omni Bedford Springs Resort & Spa

2138 US-220, Bedford. 814.624.5633. omnihotels.com/pittsburgh

Try:
Spa Packages:
Springs Eternal Package
First Lady Package
Springs Eternal Express Package
Vacation Packages

Hotel Guests Can Enjoy:  
Tee & Treatment Package
Eternal Indulgence Package

Sewickley Spa

337 Beaver St., Sewickley. 412.741.4240. sewickleyspa.com

Try:
Divine Day Package
The Magnificent Mother
The Blissful Bouquet
The Grand Massage

The Spa at Fairmont Pittsburgh Hotel

510 Market St., Downtown. 412.773.8800. fairmont.com

Try:
Urban Essentials
Taste of Fairmont
Time Out for Men
Mind, Body Wellness
Fairmont Fitness

SIGHTSEEING

Some people have lived in Pittsburgh their whole lives, but have never experienced all of the sights, sounds, and history that our city encompasses. Explore and learn more about what’s in your own backyard.

Visit a Museum

The Andy Warhol Museum, 117 Sandusky St., North Side. 412.237.8300. warhol.org
Carnegie Museums of Art and Natural History, 4400 Forbes Ave., Oakland. 412.622.3131. cmoa.org.carnegiemnh.org
Children’s Museum of Pittsburgh,10 Children’s Way, North Side. 412.322.5058. pittsburghkids.org
Mattress Factory, 500 Sampsonia Way. North Side. 412.231.3169. mattress.org
Roberto Clemente Museum, 3339 Penn Ave., Lawrenceville. 412.621.1268. clementemuseum.com
Senator John Heinz History Center, 1212 Smallman St., Strip District. 412.454.6000. heinzhistorycenter.org
Westmoreland Museum of American Art, 221 N. Main St., Greensburg. 724.837.1500. thewestmoreland.org

Ride The Duquesne Incline

1197 W. Carson St., Station Square.    412.381.1665. duquesneincline.org

Take a Just Ducky Tour

125 W. Station Square Drive, Station Square. 412.402.3825. justduckytours.com

Explore Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens

1 Schenley Drive, Oakland. 412.622.6914. phipps.conservatory.org

Ride the Gateway Clipper

350 W. Station Square Dr., Station Square. 412.355.7980. gatewayclipper.com.

+ What’s a Pittsburgh-centric day without a stop at Primanti Brothers? Find a location near you at primantibros.com!

FAMILY FUN

There are so many great activities that the whole family can enjoy. Don’t worry about long car rides and remembering to pack everything! From fun day trips to evening events, everyone will be excited to create memories together.

Visit the Carnegie Science Center

1 Allegheny Ave., North Shore. 412.237.3400. carnegiesciencecenter.org

Spend a Day at an Amusement Park

Idlewild and Soak Zone, 2574 U.S. 30, Ligonier. 724.238.3666. idlewild.com
Kennywood, 4800 Kennywood Blvd., West Mifflin. 412.461.0500. kennywood.com
Sandcastle Waterpark, 1000 Sandcastle Drive, Homestead. 412.462.6666. sandcastlewaterpark.com

Catch a Pittsburgh Pirates Game

115 Federal St., North Shore. 412.321.2827. mlb.com/pirates

+ Enjoy an afternoon of excitement, including music, crafts, and kid-friendly activities, at Station Square Family FunFest. Held the third Sunday of every month at Station Square, each event features fun provided by partners The Carnegie Science Center, Science Tots, Kidsburgh, I Made It Market, and The Children’s Museum of Pittsburgh. For more information, visit stationsquare.com.

Interact with Wildlife

The National Aviary, 700 Arch St., North Side. 412.323.7235. aviary.org
Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, One Wild Place, Highland Park. 412.665.3640. pittsburghzoo.org

Photograph from Aviary

BREWERIES & WINERIES

Craft beer connoisseurs and wine lovers in search of quality beverages don’t need to look any further. The craft beer scene is booming and Pennsylvania wineries are putting themselves on the map, too. Sip on your favorite beverage and discover a new go-to drink of choice.

Wineries
Apis Mead & Winery,
212 E. Main St., Carnegie. 412.478.9172. apismead.com
Arsenal Cider House and Wine Cellar, 300 39th St., Lawrenceville. 412.682.7699. arsenalciderhouse.com
Christian W. Klay Winery, 412 Fayette Springs Road, Chalkhill. 724.439.3424. cwklaywinery.com
Engine House 25, 3339 Penn Ave., Lawrenceville. 412.621.1268. enginehouse25.com
Greendance The Winery at Sandhill, 306 Deerfield Road, Mt. Pleasant. greendancewinery.com
Greenhouse Winery, 1048 Pinewood Road, Irwin. 724.446.5000. greenhousewinery.com
Kavic Winery, 1013 Campbells Run Road, Carnegie. 412.279.9463. kavicwinery.net
Narcisi Winery, 4578 Gibsonia Road, Gibsonia. 724.444.4744. narcisiwinery.com
Pittsburgh Winery, 2815 Penn Ave., Strip District. 412.566.1000. pittsburghwinery.com
Stone Villa Wine Cellars, 1085 Claypike Road, Acme. 724.423.5604. stonevilla.com
Wooden Door, 4087 Greenwood Road, New Kensington. 724.889.7244. woodendoorwinery.com

Breweries
The Brew Gentleman, 512 Braddock Ave., Braddock. 412.871.5075. brewgentlemen.com
The Church Brew Works, 3525 Liberty Ave., Lawrenceville. 412.688.8200. churchbrew.com
Draai Laag Brewing Company, 501 E. Ohio St., Millvale. 412.407.2506. draailaag.com
East End Brewing Co., 147 Julius St., East Liberty. 412.537.2337. eastendbrewing.com
Full Pint Brewing Company, 1963 Lincoln Hwy., North Versailles. 412.467.6414. fullpintbrewing.com
Grist House Craft Brewery, 10 E. Sherman St., Millvale. 412.447.1442. gristhouse.com
Hitchhiker Brewing Company, 190 Castle Shannon Blvd., Mt. Lebanon. 412.343.1950. hitchhikerbrewing.com
Hop Farm Brewing Company, 5601 Butler St., Lawrenceville. 412.408.3248. hopfarmbrewingco.com
Mindful Brewing Company, 3759 Library Road, Castle Shannon. 412.668.3857. mindfulbrewing.com
Penn Brewery, 800 Vinial St., Troy Hill. 412.237.9400. pennbrew.com
Roundabout Brewery, 4901 Butler St., Lawrenceville. 412.621.0540. roundaboutbeer.com
Spoonwood Brewing, 5981 Baptist Road, Bethel Park. 412.833.0333. spoonwoodbrewing.com
Voodoo Brewery, 205 E. 9th Ave., Homestead. 412.368.8973. voodoobrewery.com

+ Don’t worry about finding a DD or having to call an Uber! City Brew Tours will cover the driving for you, safely transporting you from brewery to brewery, while also providing an educational experience through their carefully curated tours. Learn more about the history of beer, as well as brewing methods, while sampling from the best breweries in the ‘Burgh. For pricing and reservations, call 412.419.2337 or visit citybrewtours.com.

Previous post

2017 Pittsburgh Rock 'N Roll Legends Awards

Next post

Honoring Dan Rooney & Henry Hillman